God

Give me the garage
filled with gargantuan goodies,
godless gorillas, and stringless
guitars. Good. All this garbage
is gone. Now, I’m just gonna
go to ghostie grassland

Uh yuh, it odd
your bod filled with smog
and hair made of fog
uh yuh, you need a job
and maybe a lobotomy

damn- the dogs are drummin’
and dancin’ and dreamin’ of
dandelions down on the downward
doggy pose. Stop on a dime
we are done with this
dumb ass dynasty of dysentery

***

This is day 26’s poem for NaPoWriMo. The prompt was to write poem using alliteration, consonance, or assonance or a combination of each.

I haven’t written day 27 yet, but I hope to. Another day of blah. They are more frequent lately. But I try to keep moving forward.

Check out the prompt and more poems here.

One response to “God”

  1. Dear JM Bowes,

    Hello! How strange that so far, no one else but me has bothered to come and peruse your well-written “About” page! Since you have not enabled commenting at your “About” page, I am here to communicate with you.

    Quoting the last paragraph of your “About” page:

    If you made it this far… thank you for joining me on this ever-changing and evolving writing journey that is both personal and communal. We are in this together. I am the writer. You are the reader. You are the teacher. I am the student.

    Yes, I did make it this far… And the only person to do so. In fact, I am the first being to visit, read, like and quote your “About” page.

    On the whole, I am suitably impressed by your rhyming poetry, in which you have excelled here. Since I have been composing mainly rhyming poems, often with end rhymes, internal rhymes, alliterations, assonances, consonances, sibilances as well as rhythmic devices, syllabic schemes, musical patterns, and other subtle or overt features, I naturally notice and gravitate to such features in your poems. Hence, I have many good reasons to like your poems.

    Alliterations, assonances and consonances aside, I can see that the title of your post, “God” (which appears in the first stanza as “godless”), when spelt backwards, becomes “Dog” (which appears in the third stanza as “dogs” and “doggy “). There are also as many stanzas in your poem as there are letters in “God” and “Dog”.

    Considering that you have such a good knack of composing poems, I would like to inform you that I am currently running the 📜 Collaborative Poetry Challenge ✍🏻 in my post metaphorically entitled “📈🌆 Growing Humanity with Artificial Intelligence: A Sociotechnological Petri Dish with Latent Threats, Existential Risks and Challenging Prospects 👨‍👩‍👦‍👦🤖🧫☣️“. The detail on how to participate in the challenge can be found in the said post published at

    📈🌆 Growing Humanity with Artificial Intelligence: A Sociotechnological Petri Dish with Latent Threats, Existential Risks and Challenging Prospects 👨‍👩‍👦‍👦🤖🧫☣️

    You can also see the excellent entries submitted by various poets to the post.

    Wishing you a very happy May and a fine late springtime doing or enjoying whatever that satisfies you the most, whether aesthetically, physically, intellectually or spiritually, including composing more excellent poems for us to savour!

    Yours sincerely,
    SoundEagle🦅

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started