Silence Between Synapses

The crystal skull which
isn’t crystal still tells
the future; it says I should
grab my wallet, chapstick
and Pizza Hut coupons and
What? The skulls falls
silent like my god-damn
brain. Another brick
in the wall, and I feel like
Pink, but instead of shaving
my eyebrows- I pluck the long ones.
Hey crystal skull- tell me, what now?
Listen, freedom is what we tell
ourselves when there’s nothing else to say.

***

This is day 27’s poem of NaPoWriMo. The prompt was to write an American sonnet. When I first heard the word sonnet, I was like oh hell no, I hate sonnets. Luckily, the American version is loose with the rules. The main rule? is 14 lines. Hey, I can do that.

Check out the prompt and other poems here.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started