Hey There Fancy Pants

Fable, perhaps, or falconry? No- it’s fairies drinking the fine fruit juice fermented in 14 hundred and 92. And at the end of the day, it’s all just a farce at the fancy-pants school.

Once, I had a friend who went to a fancy- pants school, who had a fancy-pants friend. My friend phoned and said the three of us should have fun. If you consider throwing frying pans at each other at TJ Maxx and flinging foot longs across the fortuitous front lawn- then yeah- it was a success.

Fancy-pants people hobnobbing with the peasantry is fairy tale. But it’s the peasantry who control the falcons

overhead falcons
glide and swoop toward fresh meat
I turn and walk west.

***

Look at me, I have completed day 24 of NaPoWriMo at a reasonable time. I don’t even know how I did that. Anyway, today’s prompt was to take a line from a poem and use it as your first line.

The line in my poem is “fable, perhaps falconry” from Outside the Frame by Jenny Ward Anygal. The haibun was published in an online journal- Contemporary Haibun Online. One day, I’m going to get off my ass and submit some stuff there.

Check out the literary journal above if you love haibun, haiga, and tanka prose and prompt 24 and more poems here.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started